Wednesday, July 25, 2012

IT'S HARD.








IT’S HARD TO get yourself up everyday to lift.

IT’S HARD TO get off a 12 hour shift and train another 3.

IT’S HARD TO commit everything you have without getting distracted by adversity around you.
IT’S HARD TO come from nothing…To have everything.
IT’S HARD TO not have food in you’re stomach and still fight.
IT’S HARD TO have every odd against you and still come up a winner.
IT’S HARD TO tune out the DOUBTERS, NEY SAYERS, CRITICS.
IT’S HARD when you have to spill out all you’re life sayings so that you can get the best training there is. Twice.
IT’S HARD TO keep the doubt out of your mind.
IT’S HARD TO not read the papers and hear about “That new kid.”
IT’S HARD TO stay focused at the goal in your life.
IT’S HARD TO stay when everyone says let’s go.
IT’S HARD TO stay that extra hour after practice because you know you have to be perfect. It’s even harder to be perfect.
IT’S HARD TO tell your girlfriend or your boyfriend that you can’t go out on a date tonight because you have 6am lifts tomorrow.
IT’S HARD TO get an A in your class when you spend most of your week traveling the country. Competing.
IT’S HARD TO not complain when it hurts.
IT’S HARD TO not give up on that last 3rd, 2nd, final rep.
IT’S HARD TO squat till you puke.
IT’S HARD TO turn your dads car lights on in the dark field and ask him to catch some snaps after homework before you go to sleep…then again 6am the morning of a game.
IT’S HARD TO explain to your girlfriend or boyfriend or best friend why you do all this when they don’t understand. They never do.
IT’S HARD TO fight your nightmares when you have to go out in front of 110,000 people, and another 100,000 watching on ESPN and preform.
IT’S HARD TO not give up.
IT’S HARD TO collapse. Then get up. Then finish your last set.
IT’S HARD TO wash 10 pounds of sweaty laundry after cutting weight for hours.
IT’S HARD TO not eat a whole week. Just so you can make weight on Saturday.
IT’S HARD TO come back from a loss. Then win.
IT’S HARD TO face your fears.
IT’S HARD TO have courage to fight when you know the odds aren’t even close to your favor.
IT’S HARD TO work on your dribbling foot skills when you’ve already worked on your passes and shots, for 2 hours.
IT’S HARD TO be hard.
IT’S HARD TO not to quit.
IT’S HARD TO hit batting practice on a 105 degree day.
IT’S HARD TO be a Champion.
IT’S HARD TO be a captain.
IT’S HARD TO actually be a leader in times of adversity.
IT’S HARD TO set up the pipes and take more shooting practice…after practice.
IT’S HARD TO miss Christmas, New Years, Easter, your birthday….Because you have a game, meet, match, competition.
IT’S HARD TO not see your family for months on end.
IT’S HARD TO take a HIT.
IT’S HARD TO not go insane during camp.
IT’S HARD TO shoot 10 more free throws, when you’ve already shot 100.
IT’S HARD TO wake up at 530am for lifts after staying up till 1 studying for tomorrows test.
IT’S HARD TO miss winter break or spring break when everyone is in panama beach.
IT’S HARD TO look yourself in the mirror and know you left everything you had on that field, court, or rink.
IT’S HARD TO be BORN WITH ONE LEG…THEN BE A NATIONAL CHAMPION. (Anthony Robles)
IT’S HARD TO be diagnosed with cancer. Even HARDER to fight it. Even HARDER to
beat it. EVEN HARDER to come back swinging and define yourself as a champion. (Lance Armstrong)
IT’S HARD to overcome a life-threatening ADDICTION to becoming the best hitter in the league. (Josh Hamilton)
IT’S HARD TO miss 26 game winning shots…and keep shooting (Michael Jordan)


BUT IT’S EVEN HARDER TO WATCH SOMEONE ELSE DO SOMETHING YOU KNOW YOU CAN DO. NO MORE EXCUSES. GET UP. GET AFTER IT.    

PONGS CAN JUMP KINGS AND ANY ONE CAN DO ANYTHING THEY DEDICATE THEIR MINDS TO. 




Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Look Good Play Good. The Top Ten Most Player Hatin' Lady Lovin' Uni's of All Time


Look good play good.

Everyone and their mother’s sister knows that 50% of the battle in playing sports is the uniform. Lets be honest, You’re not dunking that ball, hitting that homer or scoring that game winning shot if you don’t have fresh threads on your body. I’ve gathered the top 10 most player hatting, lady loving uniforms in all sports. Ladies see these gems of uniforms and loose their cool, Gentlemen forfeit the game before it even starts when they get one glance at these gameday unis. Without any further ado here are the top 10 most player-hatting lady loving uniform.


The 1976 Chicago White Sox: who wears short shorts? We wear short shorts.
Ladies threw themselves at these white sock wearing south side gentlemen after one look at these shorts. I mean look at those legs what a better way to show off your lower half then at a professional baseball game right? Needless to say these daisy duke Uniforms were only worn once and what was their record while wearing them you may ask yourself? 1-0. Coincidence? I think not. More room for your legs to run and breath…bring them back? I think yes.


The 1976-1995 Tampa Bay Buccaneers: Orange you glad I didn’t say Orange?


Let’s be honest if you weren’t wearing these uniforms you were not a true “player hater” you also were not going to have any luck with the females. Nothing says swagged out like a fresh pumpkin suit. I mean my favorite power rager was the orange one….there was a orange power ranger wasn’t there? Anyway these jerseys had a collective record of 0-26 in their first 26 games but hey…when you look that good records aren’t the only thing that matters. Right?


The 1999 Pittsburg Pirates: Argg me matey lets go steal a base…


Wow. Not much to say about this one. Nothing catches the ladies eye’s like a big pirate on your chest…haters love to hate on these players.



The 2011 Missouri Lacrosse Pinnies.

What self-respecting lady could deny any southern gentlemen in one of these dandies. Repping well with Truman on the front chillin on his spoon while having tiger print all up and down the back with a little MIZ ZOU love on the bottom. Not to mention these lady stealing lax suits are also reversible, suitable for any style with an oppo white side. Ladies and germs black or white these pinnies got you feelin alright. Side note…that’s my brother…he doe not have a ton of swag…but when he puts on these electric uniforms he’s got more swag than Broadway Joe himself.




2010 Chicago Blackhawks: Camouflage; America’s Away Jerseys.

‘MERICA. I’ll be honest I’m a little bias because there are tons of teams that respect the United States Military, as they should, but I chose my Chicago Blackhawks. These Jerseys bring America pride with their Digitech camo, denying any team who thinks that they could just waltz right into the Madhouse on Madison and not loose their hearing after 25,000 Chicagoans scream their heads off during the national anthem. Sung by none other than Americas finest Jim Cornilson. I mean after all ‘merica.


CAMO (cont.) The Late Great Dan Wheldon

Dan Wheldon was one of the greatest, funniest, nicest Indy Car drivers who tragically lost his life in a 2012 race in Las Vegas. He was a two time Indy 500 Champ and numerous other race winner. He was also knows for his sick flow and humor with other drivers in his series. He too repped the camo and Merica’s National Guard. While racing for the Panther Racing National Guard team he had a full out camo DiGitech fire suit…that along with his flow pulled the ladies more than any other driver on the circuit.









1992 Dream Team: USA…90’s swag.

Jordan, Magic, Pippen, Ewing, Laettner, Robinson, Bird, Drexler, Malone, Stockton, Mullin, and Barkley is that all I even need to say? Not to mention they brought the pain every single game and went hard in the paint before Waka was even a teenager. The Dream Team proclaimed gold before they stepped foot on the plain to take them to Spain. 11 Hall of famers on one team repping the good ole U S of A. These short short wearing USA cheering monsters of the game made every other team they played wish there was a slaughter rule in basketball.

The 1986 Houston Astros…Shirsey Sunrise?

The Houston Astros have not only had decently mediocre seasons over the last decades but more mediocre uniforms. The different shade of orange on their chest made a new meaning as to why you should wear sunglasses during the game of baseball…now all the hate beside, these jerseys pulled more females than Nolan Ryan’s curve ball. Granted they had them for quite sometime before stepping into the modern world and getting regular looking jerseys they still in fact player hated with these retro threads on for almost 2 decades. Not to mention that, although I love my white sox and Robin Ventura is a great manager, Nolan Ryan showed the world that he could not only throw a solid fast ball but a solid hook as well.


The Green Bay Packers: Throwback 2012.

Nothing says come get me ladies like a brown helmet, blue jersey with a yellow dot that shows their number and light brown pants. These jerseys had the babes coming from all over America. They also took a great approach to the simple but it says it idea. If you didn’t know any better you were playing the Cleveland Browns in these uni’s.



Downers Grove South 2009: Powder blue for the ladies of the school.

Last but not least in this blog about the top player hatin, lady lovin uniforms in sports has to be my junior year of high schools uniforms. We wore navy blue helmets with powder blue mustangs on our heads with white pants that had a light blue stripe and a powder blue jersey. Intimidating? Shoot yes we were. We also scored more of the females than all the other teams in the school. With a 9-3 record going all the way to the state quarters and only missing the semi’s by 4 points 7-3. We had Downers Grove lovin and all the other towns player hating. Lets be real for 5 minutes any average Joe could win in a blue or white jersey but what team could win in powder blues AND look good doing it? Ill answer that question for you young reader. Us. That’s who.


I hope you enjoyed this blog! It took me a long time to write.

Have a great day and remember an apple a day keeps the doctor away ;D

L8r Sk8r. 

Thursday, July 5, 2012

AMERICA. SHOOT YEAH!!


America-

I know I’m a day late and a buck short but here is the 4th of July report. I was out of town without my computer so I was not able to write this here blogaroo so sorry it is a day late! It is kind of a quick one but I thought, while I was going ridiculously fast on my speed-boat in American water on 4th of July what makes America so great. I made a list that is not limited to:

·      Freedom
·      Fast-food (McDonalds, BK, Wendy’s TB)
·      The Best Military Forces in the world (Army, Air Force, Marines, Navy, Coast Guard, National Guard)
·      Football
·      Lacrosse
·      The Bears
·      Chevrolet
·      The fact that starting a USA chant pretty much everywhere is acceptable
·      2x World War champs
·      Chuck Norris
·      Saturday Night Live
·      White Picket Fences
·      Abraham Lincoln (and the fact we can make movies about him being a zombie killer)
·      Entourage
·      Larry Bird
·      Michael Jordan
·      Larry Bird and Michael Jordan together
·      Jenifer Aniston
·      The Statue of Liberty
·      The Wright Brothers telling the world “heck yeah we can fly watch us.”
·      The Thriller Album
·      The INDY 500
·      ‘Merica
·      Beating every country in the world to the moon
·      Freedom
·      Not Being Canada
·      John F. Kennedy
·      BBQ’s
·      Thanksgiving
·      Santa Claus
·      Tim Allen
·      John Wayne
·      College Football
·      Rubio Long Snapping
·      Vince Lombardi
·      Coke-a-Cola
·      Bill Gates
·      Farmers
·      Get to wear whatever you want
·      Delivery food
·      The Drive-threw
·      U.S and A
·      Great Lakes
·      2 big Oceans
·      Bill Murray
·      Caddy Shack
·      Marilyn Monroe
·      ESPN
·      NASCAR
·      Hot dog eating contests
·      The highway system
·      Jobs
·      The 1st Amendment
·      Thomas Jefferson
·       Mike Ditka
·      The Lakers, the Yankees and the New England Patriots


There are plenty plenty, plenty other reasons as to why AMERICA is the best darn country in the world, universe, galaxy pretty much everywhere. I just didn’t have the time to mention every thing. We may have our problems that we have to fight through and economy is not were we want it but it sure beats the heck out of living in a country where you have no choices or opportunity. And in the terms of the guy from South Park “If you don’t like it you can get out!”

Hope you had a great 4th of July and blew something up and had a BBQ.

Here is another reason to love Old Glory and the U.S. of A. You're Welcome. 






-‘MERICA