Wednesday, July 25, 2012

IT'S HARD.








IT’S HARD TO get yourself up everyday to lift.

IT’S HARD TO get off a 12 hour shift and train another 3.

IT’S HARD TO commit everything you have without getting distracted by adversity around you.
IT’S HARD TO come from nothing…To have everything.
IT’S HARD TO not have food in you’re stomach and still fight.
IT’S HARD TO have every odd against you and still come up a winner.
IT’S HARD TO tune out the DOUBTERS, NEY SAYERS, CRITICS.
IT’S HARD when you have to spill out all you’re life sayings so that you can get the best training there is. Twice.
IT’S HARD TO keep the doubt out of your mind.
IT’S HARD TO not read the papers and hear about “That new kid.”
IT’S HARD TO stay focused at the goal in your life.
IT’S HARD TO stay when everyone says let’s go.
IT’S HARD TO stay that extra hour after practice because you know you have to be perfect. It’s even harder to be perfect.
IT’S HARD TO tell your girlfriend or your boyfriend that you can’t go out on a date tonight because you have 6am lifts tomorrow.
IT’S HARD TO get an A in your class when you spend most of your week traveling the country. Competing.
IT’S HARD TO not complain when it hurts.
IT’S HARD TO not give up on that last 3rd, 2nd, final rep.
IT’S HARD TO squat till you puke.
IT’S HARD TO turn your dads car lights on in the dark field and ask him to catch some snaps after homework before you go to sleep…then again 6am the morning of a game.
IT’S HARD TO explain to your girlfriend or boyfriend or best friend why you do all this when they don’t understand. They never do.
IT’S HARD TO fight your nightmares when you have to go out in front of 110,000 people, and another 100,000 watching on ESPN and preform.
IT’S HARD TO not give up.
IT’S HARD TO collapse. Then get up. Then finish your last set.
IT’S HARD TO wash 10 pounds of sweaty laundry after cutting weight for hours.
IT’S HARD TO not eat a whole week. Just so you can make weight on Saturday.
IT’S HARD TO come back from a loss. Then win.
IT’S HARD TO face your fears.
IT’S HARD TO have courage to fight when you know the odds aren’t even close to your favor.
IT’S HARD TO work on your dribbling foot skills when you’ve already worked on your passes and shots, for 2 hours.
IT’S HARD TO be hard.
IT’S HARD TO not to quit.
IT’S HARD TO hit batting practice on a 105 degree day.
IT’S HARD TO be a Champion.
IT’S HARD TO be a captain.
IT’S HARD TO actually be a leader in times of adversity.
IT’S HARD TO set up the pipes and take more shooting practice…after practice.
IT’S HARD TO miss Christmas, New Years, Easter, your birthday….Because you have a game, meet, match, competition.
IT’S HARD TO not see your family for months on end.
IT’S HARD TO take a HIT.
IT’S HARD TO not go insane during camp.
IT’S HARD TO shoot 10 more free throws, when you’ve already shot 100.
IT’S HARD TO wake up at 530am for lifts after staying up till 1 studying for tomorrows test.
IT’S HARD TO miss winter break or spring break when everyone is in panama beach.
IT’S HARD TO look yourself in the mirror and know you left everything you had on that field, court, or rink.
IT’S HARD TO be BORN WITH ONE LEG…THEN BE A NATIONAL CHAMPION. (Anthony Robles)
IT’S HARD TO be diagnosed with cancer. Even HARDER to fight it. Even HARDER to
beat it. EVEN HARDER to come back swinging and define yourself as a champion. (Lance Armstrong)
IT’S HARD to overcome a life-threatening ADDICTION to becoming the best hitter in the league. (Josh Hamilton)
IT’S HARD TO miss 26 game winning shots…and keep shooting (Michael Jordan)


BUT IT’S EVEN HARDER TO WATCH SOMEONE ELSE DO SOMETHING YOU KNOW YOU CAN DO. NO MORE EXCUSES. GET UP. GET AFTER IT.    

PONGS CAN JUMP KINGS AND ANY ONE CAN DO ANYTHING THEY DEDICATE THEIR MINDS TO. 




Tuesday, July 17, 2012

Look Good Play Good. The Top Ten Most Player Hatin' Lady Lovin' Uni's of All Time


Look good play good.

Everyone and their mother’s sister knows that 50% of the battle in playing sports is the uniform. Lets be honest, You’re not dunking that ball, hitting that homer or scoring that game winning shot if you don’t have fresh threads on your body. I’ve gathered the top 10 most player hatting, lady loving uniforms in all sports. Ladies see these gems of uniforms and loose their cool, Gentlemen forfeit the game before it even starts when they get one glance at these gameday unis. Without any further ado here are the top 10 most player-hatting lady loving uniform.


The 1976 Chicago White Sox: who wears short shorts? We wear short shorts.
Ladies threw themselves at these white sock wearing south side gentlemen after one look at these shorts. I mean look at those legs what a better way to show off your lower half then at a professional baseball game right? Needless to say these daisy duke Uniforms were only worn once and what was their record while wearing them you may ask yourself? 1-0. Coincidence? I think not. More room for your legs to run and breath…bring them back? I think yes.


The 1976-1995 Tampa Bay Buccaneers: Orange you glad I didn’t say Orange?


Let’s be honest if you weren’t wearing these uniforms you were not a true “player hater” you also were not going to have any luck with the females. Nothing says swagged out like a fresh pumpkin suit. I mean my favorite power rager was the orange one….there was a orange power ranger wasn’t there? Anyway these jerseys had a collective record of 0-26 in their first 26 games but hey…when you look that good records aren’t the only thing that matters. Right?


The 1999 Pittsburg Pirates: Argg me matey lets go steal a base…


Wow. Not much to say about this one. Nothing catches the ladies eye’s like a big pirate on your chest…haters love to hate on these players.



The 2011 Missouri Lacrosse Pinnies.

What self-respecting lady could deny any southern gentlemen in one of these dandies. Repping well with Truman on the front chillin on his spoon while having tiger print all up and down the back with a little MIZ ZOU love on the bottom. Not to mention these lady stealing lax suits are also reversible, suitable for any style with an oppo white side. Ladies and germs black or white these pinnies got you feelin alright. Side note…that’s my brother…he doe not have a ton of swag…but when he puts on these electric uniforms he’s got more swag than Broadway Joe himself.




2010 Chicago Blackhawks: Camouflage; America’s Away Jerseys.

‘MERICA. I’ll be honest I’m a little bias because there are tons of teams that respect the United States Military, as they should, but I chose my Chicago Blackhawks. These Jerseys bring America pride with their Digitech camo, denying any team who thinks that they could just waltz right into the Madhouse on Madison and not loose their hearing after 25,000 Chicagoans scream their heads off during the national anthem. Sung by none other than Americas finest Jim Cornilson. I mean after all ‘merica.


CAMO (cont.) The Late Great Dan Wheldon

Dan Wheldon was one of the greatest, funniest, nicest Indy Car drivers who tragically lost his life in a 2012 race in Las Vegas. He was a two time Indy 500 Champ and numerous other race winner. He was also knows for his sick flow and humor with other drivers in his series. He too repped the camo and Merica’s National Guard. While racing for the Panther Racing National Guard team he had a full out camo DiGitech fire suit…that along with his flow pulled the ladies more than any other driver on the circuit.









1992 Dream Team: USA…90’s swag.

Jordan, Magic, Pippen, Ewing, Laettner, Robinson, Bird, Drexler, Malone, Stockton, Mullin, and Barkley is that all I even need to say? Not to mention they brought the pain every single game and went hard in the paint before Waka was even a teenager. The Dream Team proclaimed gold before they stepped foot on the plain to take them to Spain. 11 Hall of famers on one team repping the good ole U S of A. These short short wearing USA cheering monsters of the game made every other team they played wish there was a slaughter rule in basketball.

The 1986 Houston Astros…Shirsey Sunrise?

The Houston Astros have not only had decently mediocre seasons over the last decades but more mediocre uniforms. The different shade of orange on their chest made a new meaning as to why you should wear sunglasses during the game of baseball…now all the hate beside, these jerseys pulled more females than Nolan Ryan’s curve ball. Granted they had them for quite sometime before stepping into the modern world and getting regular looking jerseys they still in fact player hated with these retro threads on for almost 2 decades. Not to mention that, although I love my white sox and Robin Ventura is a great manager, Nolan Ryan showed the world that he could not only throw a solid fast ball but a solid hook as well.


The Green Bay Packers: Throwback 2012.

Nothing says come get me ladies like a brown helmet, blue jersey with a yellow dot that shows their number and light brown pants. These jerseys had the babes coming from all over America. They also took a great approach to the simple but it says it idea. If you didn’t know any better you were playing the Cleveland Browns in these uni’s.



Downers Grove South 2009: Powder blue for the ladies of the school.

Last but not least in this blog about the top player hatin, lady lovin uniforms in sports has to be my junior year of high schools uniforms. We wore navy blue helmets with powder blue mustangs on our heads with white pants that had a light blue stripe and a powder blue jersey. Intimidating? Shoot yes we were. We also scored more of the females than all the other teams in the school. With a 9-3 record going all the way to the state quarters and only missing the semi’s by 4 points 7-3. We had Downers Grove lovin and all the other towns player hating. Lets be real for 5 minutes any average Joe could win in a blue or white jersey but what team could win in powder blues AND look good doing it? Ill answer that question for you young reader. Us. That’s who.


I hope you enjoyed this blog! It took me a long time to write.

Have a great day and remember an apple a day keeps the doctor away ;D

L8r Sk8r. 

Thursday, July 5, 2012

AMERICA. SHOOT YEAH!!


America-

I know I’m a day late and a buck short but here is the 4th of July report. I was out of town without my computer so I was not able to write this here blogaroo so sorry it is a day late! It is kind of a quick one but I thought, while I was going ridiculously fast on my speed-boat in American water on 4th of July what makes America so great. I made a list that is not limited to:

·      Freedom
·      Fast-food (McDonalds, BK, Wendy’s TB)
·      The Best Military Forces in the world (Army, Air Force, Marines, Navy, Coast Guard, National Guard)
·      Football
·      Lacrosse
·      The Bears
·      Chevrolet
·      The fact that starting a USA chant pretty much everywhere is acceptable
·      2x World War champs
·      Chuck Norris
·      Saturday Night Live
·      White Picket Fences
·      Abraham Lincoln (and the fact we can make movies about him being a zombie killer)
·      Entourage
·      Larry Bird
·      Michael Jordan
·      Larry Bird and Michael Jordan together
·      Jenifer Aniston
·      The Statue of Liberty
·      The Wright Brothers telling the world “heck yeah we can fly watch us.”
·      The Thriller Album
·      The INDY 500
·      ‘Merica
·      Beating every country in the world to the moon
·      Freedom
·      Not Being Canada
·      John F. Kennedy
·      BBQ’s
·      Thanksgiving
·      Santa Claus
·      Tim Allen
·      John Wayne
·      College Football
·      Rubio Long Snapping
·      Vince Lombardi
·      Coke-a-Cola
·      Bill Gates
·      Farmers
·      Get to wear whatever you want
·      Delivery food
·      The Drive-threw
·      U.S and A
·      Great Lakes
·      2 big Oceans
·      Bill Murray
·      Caddy Shack
·      Marilyn Monroe
·      ESPN
·      NASCAR
·      Hot dog eating contests
·      The highway system
·      Jobs
·      The 1st Amendment
·      Thomas Jefferson
·       Mike Ditka
·      The Lakers, the Yankees and the New England Patriots


There are plenty plenty, plenty other reasons as to why AMERICA is the best darn country in the world, universe, galaxy pretty much everywhere. I just didn’t have the time to mention every thing. We may have our problems that we have to fight through and economy is not were we want it but it sure beats the heck out of living in a country where you have no choices or opportunity. And in the terms of the guy from South Park “If you don’t like it you can get out!”

Hope you had a great 4th of July and blew something up and had a BBQ.

Here is another reason to love Old Glory and the U.S. of A. You're Welcome. 






-‘MERICA



Wednesday, June 13, 2012

The Nick Monaghan Interviews....With Himself.


HEEEEELLLLOOOOOOO La La La,

It has been a while since I have written a blog but this is hot news! I recently…after many, many missed calls and trying to get ahold of this kid, I finally got a sit down interview with recent Missouri football transfer Nick Monaghan. This is what I got after our talk and a Q and A session with this young man.


Q: Nick if you could be any animal in the world what would you be?

A: Oh that’s easy a Liger. Next question.

Q: Why?
 
A: because it’s the most dangerous animal in the kingdom Duh!

Q: If you could be in any movie ever what movie would that be?

A: Oh of course I would be Burt Reynolds in any movie. You kidding me? Pass up that opportunity to have that stashe? Get out of town.

Q: If you could meet anyone in history who would it be?

A: Benjamin Franklin. First off I would like to ask him what he is doing flying a kite with a key on it in a thunderstorm…doesn’t he know it is dangerous to do that? He also was a total player and slayed the 17th century babes. Had swag coming out the ears.

Q: If you could be any part of the car what would you be?

A: Easy the driver. (Looking at me confused I would even ask such a dumb question)

Q: If you could be any other position in football other than the long snapper what would you be?

A: Long snapper.

Q: If you could play other sport other than football what would it be?

A: Football

Q: Nick, cut it out, really?

A: Fine defiantly a hockey player. Do you see how many ladies hockey players get? Sign me up for that. I don’t even think I have to be able to play I just want to wear the stuff and the hair.

Q: Who’s your favorite singer?

A: Michael Jackson.

Q: Why?

A: Thriller album. Read a book.

Q: If you could have any partner in Dancing With the Stars who would it be?

A: Marilyn Monroe!! Marilyn Monroe!! (Making whistling noises)

Q: She is not around any more….Who’s living…

A: Specify my sir…I can’t read your mind. Thennnnnnn in that case Betty white….Just kidding ALEX MORGAN!! Are you kidding! She’s an athlete, I’m an athlete… She is a sweet heart and quite easy on the eyes…I’m….A sweet heart..? Alex if you’re reading this…possible date next week?

Q: She probably won’t be reading this…

A: that’s not a question…next question…jerk.

Q: If you could snap to any punter who would it be?

A: Brad Maynard. That man is a legend and pounded the pigskin for the Chicago Bears for years. Also with that receding hair line….Probably had his way with the females.

Q: If you could go back to any time what would it be?

A: Oh whatever the time in the movie Gladiator is…That movie is so BA. I would also try and fight lions and ask people if they are not entertained…Are you all entertained by this? I hope so. I am having a blast with all of this.

Q: Peter Francis Geracie vs. Billy Mayes.

A: Wasn’t Billy Mayes on crack?

Q: Why do you think your singing in the shower, car, while running, ect. Is good?

A: Your mother Trebek.

Q: If you could be in any book ever what would it be?

A: Lord of the flies….Me n Pig would be homies.

Q: Do you have any other talents other than long snapping?

A: Yes; rapping, playing guitar, push ups with my eyes closed, watching TV, Eating, Holding my breath under water for almost 7 seconds…ahh having fake interviews in my head?

Q: What’s with that doll you sleep with at night?

A: That question better not make the blog or you are done in this town…you hear me? Curtains!

Q: Soup or Salad

A: I’m not hungry

Q: Is it true you were the only one in your 4th grade class that couldn’t climb the rope in gym?

A: NO! WHERE’D YOU HEAR THAT??

Q: ………..

A: ….yes.

Q: If you could be the front man for any band ever what would it be?

A: What you kiddin me?? That’s easy Aerosmith all day…get on my level son!!

Q: What time is it?

A: Cudzik time.

Q: Okay last question! How many fingers am I holding up?

A: 2.


Alright! That ends this blog, which really for most part people, was a waste of time and probably makes you wish you had that time back! :D Sorry folks I hope you enjoyed my blog and don’t forget to tip your waitresses and try the veal!! :D


Give me some feedback on it…if its not good I wont care nor will I probably listen to you!


Bye! 

Tuesday, March 27, 2012

LAWN CARE; SHE DONT CARE


Now I know what you guys are all thinking Nick, Other than having a strong Mustache and stacked calfs how else can I wow the ladies?? Well I’m here to tell you here is a great way to make the ladies purr. Your lawn care. But what? But yes.

Being home from school during spring break for my parents means one thing. Someone to mow the lawn! :D That someone is me. Make no mistake about it I take my lawn care more seriously than Hank Hill himself. Though I don’t sell propane and propane accessories.

Every long snapper knows that you have to look great in every type of way and that’s including the front lawn fancy.

There are many ways one can take care of his lawn but I’m only going to stick to one way. The mow. The mow is the most important part of the lawn care essentials. You can’t just throw the mower out there all willy nilly like and expect it to be classier than school on Monday…see what I did there?

There are 3 different basic styles that I can think of right off the bat, the first one is the HOT DOG STYLE

THE HOT DOG:

I’m bringing this name all the way back to first grade when you fold your papers in “The hot dog way” Those of you who didn’t have creative teacher that is the horizontal way. This way says a few things about yourself. First that your very precisionsous ßnote that is not a word. And you can make long lines very straight. Well done to you because this lawn task is not an easy one to look great. This also is the fastest way to cut the pitch and make it look classy. It is a quick and easy way, and if done right…next thing you know your doorbell will be ringing by all the classiest neighborhood cats.  

This way is also very popular by the punt only long snappers. Notice 15 yards of straight line is a very popular thing amongst these cool cats and is quite handy in helping notice a straight snap.

THE HAMBURGER:

This is also bringing us back to 1996 when I was once in the words of snoop and wiz, young and wild and free.  Hamburger style is the folding the paper down the middle approach. This style of cut is a very precise and short length cut. No doubt about it, it’s a longer taking snip of the lawn that might take an hour or so. This slice does make for a very clean finish. It is a lot more turning and rotation of the mower and if you’re on the ride on mower it can be rather difficult to keep sharp. None the less this is a style that if done right can have the whole neighborhood chirping about your classy lawn cuts.

This type is very popular and almost recommended by field goal snappers. Notice field goal snaps are from 7-8 yards. See what I’m getting at? Alright.

THE BASEBALL CUT:

Now I must warn you. This trim is not for the novice or the young. This cut takes months, almost years to master and learn. I’ve spent many spring seasons practicing this carving. It takes a steady hand and much much, much concentration. This is of course the groove of diagonal cuts. Much like a baseball outfield. This trim will have the whole neighborhood talking at the water cooler about how crafty your lawn looks. Also it will have ladies not only ringing the doorbell but calling the line as well. Dogs themselves will know that this is a no fly zone for their waste. Also people flying by will know to take a peak out their window for this dandy.


Now you know how to catch the ladies eyes when your not even home! That’s right a nice lawn shows the girls fathers also that you’re a man. A man who knows how to take care of his lawn.




For more snapping shenanigans follow me on tweeter! @nickeyamonagram 


Also huge shout out to my brother and the MIZZOU Men’s Lacrosse team as they played Virginia Tech last night and mike had his first start at face off and D-middi. Normally he is just a D-middi. He went 19-21 on his face-offs and I couldn’t be more proud of him!! Also Mitch Tusing likes to hit people and does it very, very well…I’m proud of him J


ALSO!!! I will be making a song of the week! Keeping with the spring baseball theme I have chosen this little ditty from the 80’s. for those of you that know this used to be Chicago White Sox’s 2nd basemen Gordan Beckham’s batting song


Take care and stay classy San Diego. 

Tuesday, March 13, 2012

Ladies and gentlemen Mr. Irrelevant


Ladies and germs I know what your all thinking…Nick are you ok, you haven’t blogged in almost a MONTH! D: I’m here to tell you that everything is just fine! I had to take off a month of blogging because I flew India for a couple weeks to become a monk. In my revelations though, I decided that I was going to come back to the states and stick to a talent of mine that I thought would be my only chance of charming a classy lady…and that is long snapping. I missed snapping and to be honest I don’t seam to have the same “Snap Swagger” that I have without it. But not to worry I have come to my senses and back doing what I love to do. Just kidding I’ve just been to lazy/busy to keep up with it lately. I’m sorry world and general public. Breathe easy; Nick is back from watching the tv. See what I did there?

Anyhow I thought I would also get the word out of a good friend of mine. He seams to be taking the World Wide Webular by storm in his campaign to become Mr. Irrelevant in this years NFL draft.

What was that? Nick what is Mr. Irrelevant?

Well I’m here to tell you and YOU GONE LEARN TODAY THAT’S A LOOOOOOOOONG Snapper… ahhh you thought I was ganna say something else didn’t you? Well…maybe we remove our heads from the water receptacle shouldn’t we?

Anyhow, Mr. Kevin Ballinger Purdue’s long snapper and a guy I look up to, is making his case for Mr. Irrelevant. I suppose that I should tell all of you what Mr. Irrelevant is seeing as my last explanation turned into me scorning you. Mr. Irrelevant is the last pick in the NFL draft. Generally to someone that is you guessed it! Talented. Anyway Kevin is a great guy and deserves to hold this covenant honor that likes of Michael Green, Ronnie McAda, David Vobora just to name a few!

Good Luck to Mr. Ballinger as he looks to be renamed Mr. Irrelevant!

Here is his absolutely hilarious blog in which he talks a lot about being a long snapper in today’s cold and strenuous day and age and the struggles that come with being Mr. Irrelevant.


Oh and in other news!!!!!!!! :D

Spring is on its way and that means only one thing! Short Shorts Season! That’s right GENTLEMEN!!!! GET THOSE SUN GLASSES ON AND YOUR STARING EYES READY BECAUSE IT'S TIME THAT SHORT SHORTS COME OUT ONCE AGAIN! I’ve got mine ready. Everyone knows that short shorts look better on guys anyway right? Ladies love them and you can always catch a pretty eyed momma staring at your all white pale dandy’s you call your legs.

Your welcome ladies ;)

ALSO! CONGRADS! To my brother and his current lacrosse team as he is one of the top D Middies on the Missouri Men’s Lacrosse team! They are currently 4-0! Mike also has had one cool picture taken of him. So proud. And what I believe to be 2 assists waaaaaaduuuuuuuppppp!

Thank you and good night world. I know its still day-time.


#kevinballingerformrirrelevant